Shoosmiths shortlisted for compliance award

Shoosmiths shortlisted for compliance award


Author: Kellie Young

National law firm Shoosmiths has been shortlisted for Best Regulatory Law Firm at the 2016 Women in Compliance Awards.

Female legal advisers make a massive contribution to the success of the Shoosmiths team and include Manchester-based partner, Andrea James and Birmingham-based senior associate Hayley Saunders.

The shortlisting recognises another excellent year for Shoosmiths compliance team marked by continued growth, investment, awards success and a number of new instructions.

The team works for a number of high profile clients and this year successfully defended an operations manager in a high profile health and safety case - one of the earliest prosecutions under the Corporate Manslaughter and Corporate Homicide Act 2007, which resulted in the UK's highest corporate manslaughter fine for a UK business.

The shortlisting also recognised the team's expertise in advising a range of healthcare sector clients in regulatory and compliance matters, for example recently advising an ambulance service in relation to Care Quality Commission enforcement action, which ultimately resulted in all sanctions being lifted.

Senior associate, Hayley Saunders, commented: 'We are pleased to have been shortlisted for this award which recognises not only our ability to act in litigated cases, but also our commitment to providing innovative solutions to help identify and manage risk before it becomes an issue for our clients. It is great that our team has been recognised for their talent and expertise.'

From competition breaches to data theft, fraud and corruption to environmental disasters, and product recalls to fatal accidents and professional discipline investigations, Shoosmiths compliance team provides 24/7 legal support.

The award criteria stipulate that entrants must demonstrate that their compliance team is either led by a woman or has a diverse make-up with female team members being integral to its function and success.

Winners will be revealed at this year's awards ceremony, which will take place on 17 March 2016 at St Paul's hotel in London.